I’m really struggling with the connection here, so you may lose this.

But I’d like to talk about turnips.

Turnips. Gawdelpus. If spring greens are the sulky conscripts of the vegetable army, turnips are the hapless souls who spend most of their time painting rocks white, or on permanent latrine duty. Useless makeweights, with all the officers and NCOs wondering how to keep them off the parade ground at passing out.

They aren’t.

I am going to cheat here, but if you follow my blog you’ll appreciate that I’m a great cheat.

Poke about on the Internet, you can find any number of recipes for Bombay potatoes, or aloo.

Buy some turnips, and use them as you would potatoes. Top and tail them, peel, chop into chunks, then just follow any Bombay aloo recipe.

My recommendation is that you lay off the chilli heat, and concentrate on the aromatics. Cinnamon, star anise, nutmeg (perhaps), fenugreek, ginger, garlic. Coriander seeds. Mustard seed, but don’t overdo them.

That is the best I can do. My WiFi is all over the place.

But really, heavy on the aromatics. And a big handful of chopped coriander/cilantro just before serving

